Amazing how true this still is…still working in the nursery, Laundry Mountain has been repeatedly torn down and rebuilt – but is still there, and I’m still wanting more adventure in my life. The more things change, the more they stay the same 🙂

Feelin’ out o’ sorts…
Category: Goals, Plans, Hopes

Wow…what a day. I work in our church nursery, where I am a temporary “cuddle mama” to all the kids whose parents drop them off. It was nuts today, and I was exhausted and cranky by the end of the day. There are some days where I look at my life and think, “is this all there is?” Don’t get me wrong – I love my kids, with all my heart, and I wouldn’t want to be with anyone other than my husband. There are days, though, where the sheer ordinariness and predictability of my life gets to me.

I want to have adventure – I want to hop on a plane and fly to some place exotic and new…Marrakesh, Bombay, London, Cairo, Rio…anywhere so long as it’s not ordinary-somewhere-in-Colorado. I want to sit on the beach and sip Mai-Tais, go beachcombing and drawing/painting…explore little-known alleys of far-off bazaars…sail on a glass-bottom boat or learn to snorkel or scuba dive (do they even let large women do that?)

I’ve been reading Danny Gregory’s “Everyday Matters,” and I feel somewhat guilty about feeling this way. After all, my world could be turned upside down so easily, as was his. Reading this, though, did get me starting to notice all the little things that make my life unique – Laundry Mountain, The Kitchen Slough, and the Dirt-eating Carpet Monster…Aidan running around the house yelling, “Red Balls, Red Balls!” (something for another entry…:), Rebecca calling, “Mam! MAMMAM!”…There ARE many things to be grateful for.

Still…I wish I had more time for my art, and for my knitting. My UFO, the evil cardigan, weighs more mentally than it ever will physically, and I have so many projects I WANT to do…like make up my collage “Thank you” notes, work on David’s project (my FIL), etc., etc. And they all seem to weigh more heavily each day, as does the uncleaned house, the unwashed clothes, and unwritten notes. (And so what am I doing? Blogging…;P ) I guess I need to reconcile that the choices I make don’t always line up with what I think I want…sometimes life just takes over and I go on autopilot. And, at the rate I’m going, I’ll be lucky if Laundry Mountain doesn’t petrify soon…Move over Petrified Forest, make room for the petrified Socks of Doom…

