I don’t know what it is about cold rainy fall days, but they are my favorite kind of days of the year. Maybe it’s living in Colorado, where we average 12-15 inches of precipitation a year – I miss the water in all forms. Maybe it’s that gray, cool days bring me some peace – it feels like the world is breathing a sigh and exhaling some of the frenetic busy-ness that sunny days entail. Or, maybe it’s just like that I like cold rainy days – I feel like snuggling up under a warm quilt with a good book, a hot cup of tea and the window open so I can smell the rain and feel the breeze…it’s like a little bit of heaven for me.

I’m such a nut about the cold weather, that I keep the window open even in the winter. I drive my poor husband nuts with that, but there is *nothing* like the smell of fresh cool air to help me relax. Even when it’s snowing – I can hear the muted hush of the cars on the road, as the snow falls and insulates the house from the outside world. And, I’m finding, there are different smells to the rain and snow – fall rain has a mustier, more earthy smell to it, while winter snow has a sharper, clean crispness to it.

Anyway, we’re in the middle of a fall cold spell here – and it feels wonderful.  I can slow down, find my bliss and enjoy that hot cup of tea – and a good blog.

